An Ode To Smitten Kitchen

Hello lovely readers,

Today’s first post will be somewhat of a confession. You may all think I am this great cook/baker/hostess, but I get A LOT of my tips from Smitten Kitchen (aka Deb Perelman). Her recipes are flawless – if you follow them pretty closely you are guaranteed to generate an amazing dish that will leave your guests ooh-ing and ahh-ing.

Click above for greatness!
Click above for greatness!

Deb started her blog in 2006 and since then has amassed a huge amount followers and recipes – you can generally find one (or several) to choose from for pretty much anything you want to make. She always accompanies her posts with gorgeous photos, not only of the final product, but also what each step along the way should theoretically look like. This is very helpful for those of us who are not so inclined to culinary lingo (I just recently learned the difference between hard and soft peaks). She also has adorable anecdotes, so we get a peek into her world while learning a new dish.

Deb Perelman and I at the 2014
Deb Perelman and I at the 2014 “Word on the Street” Festival in Toronto. You can tell by my smile that I am majorly fangirling.

When I met Deb last fall, she was super sweet and adorably awkward. She took the time to sign my copy of her cookbook and listened on while I blabbered about the time I tipsily decided to make one of her challahs at midnight. She gave me some great advice to avoid staying up until 6 am to finish, oy!

IMG_1347
Happy cooking indeed 🙂
gsdgsdsdgsd
If anything, a great coffee table book for its drool-inducing photos. It has many delicious recipes that cannot be found on the website.
Deb also is great at interacting with her fans. She will respond to numerous questions in the comment sections of her recipes. She also has an active Instagram presence (see above!)
Deb also is great at interacting with her fans. She will respond to numerous questions in the comment sections of her recipes. She also has an active Instagram presence (see above!).

To finish off this post, I encourage you all to check out the website. Bon appétit 🙂

Leave a Reply

